Luke Cooper takes final win of the year in shortened third Donington race

Luke Cooper claimed his first Avon Tyres BRSCC National FF1600 victory since the opening round with a commanding lights-to-flag performance in a shortened final race at Donington Park.

The Swift Cooper driver started the partially reversed-grid race from pole and comfortably held top spot in a race which was red flagged with two minutes remaining.

Cliff Dempsey Racing-run Team USA Scholarship driver Jake Craig got the jump on fellow Scholarship winner Colin Mullan at the start to finish a close runner-up to Cooper at the flag.

Compatriot Carter Williams took the final spot on the podium for Don Hardman Racing, ahead of team-mate Joey Foster.

Heavy rain meant that the 22 drivers were given a second formation lap to acclimatise to the conditions following yesterday’s pair of dry encounters.

Cooper, with the advantage of having no spray in front of him, led easily from pole and kept the impressive Craig at arms length throughout the four-lap race.

After retiring from race one and managing a lowly 10th in the second race, Foster made up five places on the opening lap to run fifth in his Ray.

The FF1600 veteran then moved past the Kevin Mills Racing Spectrum of Michael Eastwell at the Old Hairpin for fourth shortly before the red flags came out, but was dropped from the official results after a spin at the Old Hairpin, which meant his car was not moving when the red flag came out. This promoted Michael Eastwell to fourth place.

Another to make good progress in the race was Team Dolan’s Matt Round-Garrido, who started from the back of the grid following two retirements on Saturday.

Round-Garrido finished 10th on the road but was demoted to 11th on countback from the red flag stoppage, only to be reinstated by Foster’s non-classification.

Double race-winner from Saturday Rory Smith started seventh and claimed yet more points with fifth, capping off his most successful National weekend to date.

Series returnee Michael Moyers finished sixth in his KMR Spectrum, ahead of Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Nico Gruber.

Max Marzorati and Jonathan Browne complete the top 10 ahead of Round-Garrido. Vincent Jay was the leading Clubman Post-’89 driver in 16th, driving a Ray GR10.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Luke Cooper Swift 4 laps
2 Pro Jake Craig Ray +1.285
3 Pro Carter Williams Ray +3.928
4 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +5.444
5 Pro Rory Smith Medina +5.974
6 Pro Michael Moyers Spectrum +6.661
7 Pro Nico Gruber Ray +7.618
8 Pro Max Marzorati Firman +9.925
9 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +13.491
10 Pro Matt Round-Garrido Medina +13.622
11 Pro Jack Wolfenden Firman +16.614
12 Pro Sebastian Job Van Diemen +19.848
13 Pro Colin Mullan Ray +21.785
14 Pro Thomas Capezzone Swift +23.997
15 Pro Tommy Foster Van Diemen +29.364
16 CM89 Vincent Jay Ray +35.177
17 CM89 Sam Street Swift +39.683
18 Pre90 Simon Fleet Van Diemen +41.623
19 Pro Fergus Paton Van Diemen +1:09.134
DNF Pro Joey Foster Ray
DNF Pro Pascal Monbaron Van Diemen
DNF CM89 John Svensson Van Diemen
Fastest lap: Cooper, 1:32.969

Championship standings

1 Niall Murray 522   2 Eastwell 465   3 Round-Garrido 378   4 Foster 371   5 Cooper 369   6 Smith 303   7 Jamie Thorburn 274   8 Gruber 228   9 Williams 205   10 Neil Maclennan 193
Triple Crown
Niall Murray 175   2 Eastwell 173   3 Smith 161   4 Moyers 161   5 Cooper 159   6 Foster 136   7 Round-Garrido 111   Jamie Thorburn 95   9 Williams 81   10 Hugo Bentley-Ellis 73
Clubman Post89
1 Jay 599   2 Richard Morris 408   3 Svensson 164   4 Street 149   5 Daniel O’Beirne 106   6 Felix Fisher 104   7 John Ferguson 94   8 George McDonald 62   9 Henry Chart 53   10 Matt Payne 44

0 comments on “Luke Cooper takes final win of the year in shortened third Donington race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: