BRSCC National News

Smith wins again in second National race at Donington

Rory Smith took his second Avon Tyres BRSCC National FF1600 Championship victory of the day at Donington Park.

B-M Racing driver Smith made a good start from pole and, despite a late challenge from Kevin Mills Racing’s Michael Eastwell, spent most of the race alone at the front in his Medina JL18.

The pair crossed the line just 0.175 seconds apart after Eastwell’s late charge, while Eastwell’s team-mate Michael Moyers rounded out the podium in third, both KMR drivers in Spectrum 011Cs.

Moyers took the lead briefly on lap two, as Luke Cooper’s ambitious move on Smith down the Craner Curves didn’t work and Moyers was able to pass both of them.

However, Smith stamped his authority with a late dive down the inside at Redgate on the next tour, and Moyers had to leave room to avoid a collision. Later on, team-mate Eastwell found a way through and was able to chase down Smith.

Arguably the best battle of the race was for fourth, as Americans Carter Williams and Jake Craig – both driving Rays – were eventually joined in their scrap by Cooper’s Swift and a resurgent Joey Foster, who started at the back after his race one retirement.

Williams managed to hold fourth and led an all-California trio across the line, beating Team USA Scholarship winners Craig and Colin Mullan.

Cooper was seventh ahead of Nico Gruber and Thomas Cappezone, with Foster finishing 10th after spending the last few laps embroiled in that battle.

Foster’s race-one rival Matt Round-Garrido also started from the back of the grid after his retirement in the same incident, and got as high as 13th before retiring to the pits a few laps from home.

The reversed-grid final race of the weekend takes place tomorrow, with Cooper starting from pole.

Clubman Post-’89 champion Vincent Jay topped his class, with John Svensson just beating Sam Street to second. Richard Morris failed to start the race due to a mechanical issue he was struck by in race one.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Rory Smith Medina 12 laps
2 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +0.175
3 Pro Michael Moyers Spectrum +0.926
4 Pro Carter Williams Ray +10.337
5 Pro Jake Craig Ray +10.750
6 Pro Colin Mullan Ray +11.317
7 Pro Luke Cooper Swift +11.381
8 Pro Nico Gruber Ray +11.935
9 Pro Thomas Capezzone Swift +13.085
10 Pro Joey Foster Ray +13.122
11 Pro Sebastian Job Van Diemen +18.085
12 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +18.293
13 Pro Jack Wolfenden Firman +20.717
14 Pro Max Marzorati Firman +21.082
15 Pro Pascal Monbaron Van Diemen +30.047
16 Post89 Vincent Jay Ray +33.798
17 Post89 John Svensson Van Diemen +40.086
18 Post89 Sam Street Swift +40.538
19 Pro Fergus Paton Van Diemen +49.524
20 Pre90 Simon Fleet Van Diemen +52.164
21 Pro Tommy Foster Van Diemen +53.359
22 Post89 Matt Payne Van Diemen +1 lap
DNF Pro Matt Round-Garrido Medina
DNF Pro Matt Rivett Ray
Fastest lap: Eastwell, 1:15.122

Championship standings

1 Niall Murray 522   2 Eastwell 473   3 Round-Garrido 376   4 Foster 375   5 Cooper 343   6 Smith 291   7 Jamie Thorburn 274   8 Gruber 219   9 Neil Maclennan 193   10 Williams 187
Triple Crown
Niall Murray 175   2 Eastwell 151   3 Moyers 143   4 Smith 141   5 Foster 134   6 Cooper 125   7 Round-Garrido 103   Jamie Thorburn 95   Hugo Bentley-Ellis 73   10 Williams 57
Clubman Post89
1 Jay 571   2 Morris 408   3 Svensson 162   4 Street 122   5 Daniel O’Beirne 106   6 Felix Fisher 104   7 John Ferguson 94   8 George McDonald 62   9 Henry Chart 53   10 Payne 44

0 comments on “Smith wins again in second National race at Donington

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: