BRSCC National News

Rory Smith triumphs in tempestuous Donington race

Rory Smith won a chaotic first Avon Tyres BRSCC National FF1600 Championship race of the weekend at Donington Park, after poleman Joey Foster was involved in a multi-car incident.

B-M Racing driver Smith started fourth but the nature of Donington’s National circuit, now completely dry after the damp qualifying session, lended itself to pack racing, demonstrated by the lead battle.

Foster made a good start from pole in his Don Hardman Racing-ran Ray, and held the lead until a charging Matt Round-Garrido (Medina) made a move around the outside of the daunting Craner Curves on lap three, having passed Luke Cooper’s Swift one lap previously.

The pair stayed side-by-side to the Old Hairpin, where Foster’s ran slightly wide, allowing Team Dolan driver Round-Garrido through. His lead only lasted a lap, however, as Foster found a way back through and Smith followed.

The winning move came from Smith on lap five, diving down the inside of Foster at the Old Hairpin.

It was the end of that lap where the first of two significant incidents involving Foster and Round-Garrido took place. Both drivers went off, lost positions and managed to rejoin.

Two laps later a multi-car incident at the chicane sent both drivers out of the race, with Round-Garrido ending up in the barriers and Foster limping back to the pits. Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Nico Gruber (Ray) and Smith’s team-mate Sebastian Job (Van Diemen), who had been running fifth in the early part of the race, were also involved, along with Dolan’s Jack Wolfenden (Firman).

Amongst all the chaos, Cooper was able to move back up to second for Swift Cooper, ahead of Kevin Mills Racing pair Michaels Moyers and Eastwell.

Team USA Scholarship driver Jake Craig took fifth in his first race on UK soil, having started 12th, and just held off fellow Californian Carter Williams at the flag.

Thomas Capezzone was seventh ahead of the second Team USA driver Colin Mullan. Jonathan Browne and Matt Rivett. John Svensson’s Van Diemen was the leading Clubman Post-’89 car in 12th.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Rory Smith Medina 12 laps
2 Pro Luke Cooper Swift +0.174
3 Pro Michael Moyers Spectrum +0.610
4 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +0.801
5 Pro Jake Craig Ray +9.670
6 Pro Carter Williams Ray +9.745
7 Pro Thomas Capezzone Swift +10.577
8 Pro Colin Mullan Ray +11.014
9 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +19.964
10 Pro Matt Rivett Ray +20.402
11 Pro Max Marzorati Firman +23.914
12 Post89 John Svensson Van Diemen +24.632
13 Post89 Vincent Jay Ray +34.041
14 Pro Pascal Monbaron Van Diemen +35.499
15 Pro Fergus Paton Van Diemen +37.379
16 Post89 Sam Street Swift +45.792
17 Pro Tommy Foster Van Diemen +54.233
18 Pre90 Simon Fleet Van Diemen +55.550
19 Post89 Matt Payne Van Diemen +1:12.072
DNF Pro Joey Foster Ray
DNF Pro Nico Gruber Ray
DNF Pro Sebastian Job Van Diemen
DNF Pro Matt Round-Garrido Medina
DNF Pro Jack Wolfenden Firman
DNF Post89 Richard Morris Swift
Fastest lap: Cooper, 1:15.607

Championship standings

1 Niall Murray 522   2 Eastwell 444   3 Round-Garrido 374   4 Foster 367   5 Cooper 328   6 Jamie Thorburn 274   7 Smith 259   8 Gruber 207   9 Neil Maclennan 193   10 Williams 165
Triple Crown
Niall Murray 175   2 Foster 126   3 Eastwell 122   4 Moyers 119   5 Cooper 110   6 Smith 109   7 Round-Garrido 101   Jamie Thorburn 95   Hugo Bentley-Ellis 73   10 Stuart Gough 48
Clubman Post89
1 Jay 539   2 Morris 408   3 Svensson 133   4 Daniel O’Beirne 106   5 Felix Fisher 104   Street 98   7 John Ferguson 94   8 George McDonald 62   9 Henry Chart 53   10 Payne 22

0 comments on “Rory Smith triumphs in tempestuous Donington race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: