Historic News

Jackson masters the wet at Brands Hatch

Cameron Jackson came closer to the lead of the Historic Formula Ford championship with a fearsome display of wet-weather driving skills at Brands Hatch.

Title rival Ben Mitchell was second, almost half a second behind, and narrowly retains his number-one position

Polesitter Callum Grant had a bad start, struggling for grip on a wet track that was also liberally covered with oil. Jackson, on the other hand, got a flying start from fifth and took Mitchell, in sixth, with him. He admitted before the race that he enjoys the challenge of a wet track and the additional skills it requires.

Jackson built up a significant lead but Mitchell pushed harder and managed to keep his Merlyn within sight of the Lola. A safety car period triggered by an off for Danish teenager Mads Gravsen on the fifth lap helped Mitchell, as did a string of backmarkers. He put in the fastest lap on the tenth lap but could not quite catch Jackson.

Grant was involved in a tense battle with Linton Stuteley for third. Grant had slipped behind Stuteley from the start but never gave up. He repeatedly tried a wider line through Surtees, which he couldn’t make stick, but when he altered his line after the safety car period, he managed to get past the Jamun driver. He was very close to Mitchell when the chequered flag dropped and might have caught him on a drier day. Stuteley remained safe in fourth, with Clive Richards’s Merlyn eight seconds behind and Benjamin Tusting’s Merlyn a further four seconds away.

Over 50s class winner Ted Pearson drove a Merlyn Mk11/17 run by Nigel Grant to eighth place, making up several places. Poleman Rob Smith had to settle for 13th, behind Stuart Kestenbaum’s Crossle and Dick Dixon’s Lotus.

Race round-up

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Cameron Jackson Lola 14 laps
2 Ben Mitchell Merlyn +0.408
3 Callum Grant Merlyn +3.877
4 Linton Stuteley Jamun +7.299
5 Cliive Richards Merlyn +15.460
6 Benjamin Tusting Merlyn +19.088
7 Pierre Livingston Merlyn +24.290
8 OF Ted Pearson Merlyn +26.508
9 Maxim Bartell Merlyn +27.435
10 Ross Drybrough Merlyn +29.274
11 OF Stuart Kestenbaum Crossle +39.894
12 OF Dick Dixon Lotus +41.435
13 OF Rob Smith Merlyn +52.294
14 Daniel Stanzl Elden +1:03.132
15 OF Graham Ridgway Hawke +1:06.283
16 OF Tim Brise Merlyn +1:06.657
17 OF Brian Morris Lola +1:07.567
18 OF Chris Stuart Crossle +1 lap
19 OF Andy Wiggins Titan +1 lap
20 OF Rudolf Ernst Titan +1 lap
Fastest lap: Mitchell, 1:02.873

0 comments on “Jackson masters the wet at Brands Hatch

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: