Cooper claims Combe title as Fisher wins opening race

Luke Cooper claimed the Castle Combe FF1600 championship despite an engine failure on the penultimate lap as Josh Fisher claimed race one victory.

Cooper’s engine failed on the penultimate lap as he came through the final corner of Camp, as the Swift driver was chasing down Fisher.

It was the first CCRC FF1600 Championship race this season that Cooper wasn’t able to win.

David Vivian was the only driver who could stop Cooper winning the CCRC FF1600 Championship sponsored by Melksham Motor Spares, and he needed to outscore Cooper by 21 points to keep the championship battle ongoing.

A mid-race spin for Vivian meant he fell down the order to 11th in the race and, despite coming home in fifth, it was not enough to stop Cooper winning the title.

The race started off as six-way battle for the lead between Fisher, Cooper, Vivian, Roger Orgee, Michael Eastwell and Adam Higgins – a multiple-time winner of the CCRC FF1600 Championship.

Cooper started the race from pole position but was down in sixth at the end of the first lap while Higgins, running with the Kevin Mills Racing outfit in a Spectrum 011, made a superb start to lead at the end of the opening lap.

As the race went on, drivers in contention fell out of the fight for the win. Vivian had a mid-race spin which dropped him down the field while Higgins and Eastwell (Spectrum 011C) collided during the race.

On the penultimate lap Cooper was able to mount a challenge for the race win on Fisher going into the right-hand corner of Quarry, but Fisher was able to hold on.

Later on in the lap, through the final corner, Cooper’s engine failed and dropped liquid onto the circuit.

It meant Fisher took the victory ahead of Orgee and Higgins while Tom Hawkins finished in fourth place.

Vivian was fifth, ahead of Class B winner Paul Mason in sixth and Shaun Macklin in seventh. Class C winner Steve Bracegirdle finished in eighth place with debutant Matthew Hallam in ninth.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 A Josh Fisher Van Diemen 12m03.656
2 A Roger Orgee Spectrum +3.821
3 A Adam Higgins Spectrum +19.241
4 A Tom Hawkins Ray +20.766
5 A David Vivian Spectrum +24.459
6 B Paul Mason Swift +31.029
7 B Shaun Macklin Swift +31.699
8 C Steve Bracegirdle Van Diemen +35.425
9 C Matthew Hallam Reynard +51.336
10 A Luke Cooper Swift +1 Lap
11 C Michael Phillips Swift +1 Lap
12 D Peter Hannam Nike 1970 +1 Lap
13 B Alex Rivett Swift +1 Lap
DNF A Michael Eastwell Spectrum
Fastest lap: Orgee, 1m10.890

0 comments on “Cooper claims Combe title as Fisher wins opening race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: