Champion of Brands MSVR

Eastwell takes imperious Champion of Brands race one win

Michael Eastwell claimed a dominant lights-to-flag win in the opening VeriVin Champion of Brands race in his Spectrum for Kevin Mills Racing.

Poleman Eastwell held off second-place starter Jamie Thorburn’s Ray in the opening corners, first when Thorburn attacked on the outside of Paddock Hill Bend then as he sought to pass on the inside of Druids. Thorburn’s lost momentum meant that his Cliff Dempsey Racing team-mate James Raven was able to seize second place from him by Graham Hill Bend.

Eastwell was able to quickly break the tow to the cars behind as his two Cliff Dempsey pursuers battled over second position. He built a lead of over three seconds by two-thirds’ distance and took the chequered flag 3.2s ahead of runner-up Raven, who managed to hold off third-placed Thorburn for the duration, to take the Champion of Brands crown.

The third Cliff Dempsey runner, Jonathan Browne, stalled at the start and finished a distant sixth. Chris Middlehurst in his Van Diemen was unable to take the start.

Ollie White, who loses the Champion of Brands title to Eastwell, finished fourth close behind the battling Raven and Thorburn. White was unhappy with his Medina’s handling in qualifying. He in turn was followed home in close quarters by Rory Smith’s Medina in fifth.

Sixth-placed Browne finished 25s off the winner and pipped Conor Murphy’s Mondiale by just 0.2s for the place.

Jack Kemp’s Ray, Flashman Finneran’s Van Diemen and Richard Mendoza’s Mygale completed the top 10 in that order. Max Marzorati finished 11th in his Firman after spinning at Clearways on lap 2.

Race results

Pos Driver Car Gap
1 Michael Eastwell Spectrum 15:21.972
2 James Raven Ray +3.298
3 Jamie Thorburn Ray +4.052
4 Ollie White Medina +6.154
5 Rory Smith Medina +7.844
6 Jonathan Browne Ray +25.355
7 Conor Murphy Mondiale +25.570
8 Jack Kemp Ray +34.185
9 Flashman Finneran Van Diemen +36.736
10 Richard Mendoza Mygale +1 Lap
11 Max Marzorati Firman +1 Lap
12 Andrew Clark Van Diemen +1 Lap
13 Andrew Pryke Van Diemen +1 Lap
14 Simon Pruce Ray +2 Laps
15 James Gowens Jamun +3 Laps
DNF Mark Adkins Jamun
DNF Jason Down Mygale
Fastest lap: Eastwell, 50.430

0 comments on “Eastwell takes imperious Champion of Brands race one win

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: