Classic News

Tilley fights off Tinkler in second Classic FF1600 race at Mallory

Benn Tilley held off Ben Tinkler to win the second BARC Luna Logistics Classic Formula Ford race at Mallory Park.

Tilley passed poleman Tinkler on the first lap and retained his lead throughout the race, although Tinkler continually challenged him on the straights. In the end, Tinkler settled for a class win rather than risking a non-finish while going for the overall lead.

Tinkler in turn was being pursued by Mark Bates in his Royale RP24. Bates, who set the fastest lap, never quite caught Tinkler but thoroughly took advantage of his elevated grid position.

Jordan Harrison would have been there, but he is sharing his car with father Alan, who started at the back of the grid. Nevertheless, Bates put up a good fight and came very close to Tinkler at times, although he dropped away from the two leaders towards the end.

Also starting near the back was Stuart Kestenbaum after his first race mishap. The experienced Class B driver, who confessed that he “didn’t want to think about how many laps (he’d) done of Mallory over the years”, moved up from 17th place to 5th over the course of the 20 minutes. If it hadn’t been for a yellow flag due to Mark Armstrong’s ailing car, he would have caught up with the leading pack of three.

Armstrong’s car developed problems early on, although he started reasonably well, challenging Bates for third in the first few laps. His increasingly slow and noisy Van Diemen ended up in the pits on lap 19.

James Hadfield overcame his lowly grid position of thirteenth to finish fourth, having got his head round the overheating problem from Race 1. He was not quite able to catch the leading group but successfully overhauled the likes of Steve Pearce and a returning Nigel Lingwood, who was seventh despite being another back-of-the-grid starter. Pearce was sixth, leading a small pack of Van Diemens in the latter reaches of the top ten.

In spite of his Race 1 accident, Martin Whitlock finished the race in a PRS RH02, in eighteenth place.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 B Benn Tilley Merlyn 24 laps
2 A Ben Tinkler Van Diemen +0.183
3 A Mark Bates Royale +0.380
4 B James Hadfield Hawke +8.371
5 B Stuart Kestenbaum Crossle +13.562
6 A Steve Pearce Van Diemen +22.936
7 A Nigel Lingwood Van Diemen +24.451
8 A Alan Williamson Van Diemen +29.447
9 A Alan Fincham Van Diemen +44.114
10 A Graham Terry Van Diemen +49.576
11 B David Lowe Lotus +1 lap
12 A Mark Harrison Lola +1 lap
13 B Ian Fernihough Van Diemen +1 lap
14 A Phil Attwood Crossle +1 lap
15 A John Evans Royale +1 lap
16 A Richard Yeomans Crossle +1 lap
17 A David Roark Van Diemen +1 lap
18 A Martin Whitlock PRS +2 laps
19 A Ben Hadfield Van Diemen +4 laps
DNF A Mark Armstrong Van Diemen
Fastest lap: Bates, 50.026

0 comments on “Tilley fights off Tinkler in second Classic FF1600 race at Mallory

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: