BRSCC National News

National championship leader Murray sets pace in Oulton Park qualifying

BRSCC Avon Tyres National FF1600 championship leader Niall Murray has taken a fourth straight pole in qualifying at Oulton Park International.

The Irishman planned his session well, holding back when leaving the assembly area in his Van Diemen RF99 to give himself more space on track. The clear runs he was afforded were put to good effect, with his best lap going under the race lap record.

Team Dolan team-mate Matt Round-Garrido set the pace at the beginning of the session, but failed to improve after being demoted by Murray and sank to fifth place in his Medina Sport JL17.

The order between the pair was set late in the session. The remaining top-five grid positions were claimed by Swift Cooper’s Luke Cooper, Kevin Mills Racing’s Michael Eastwell and Jamie Thorburn of Cliff Dempsey Racing.

The trio were split by 0.04 seconds, with Cooper prevailing in his Swift SC16. Unfortunately for him we was over three tenths slower than Murray.

Eastwell claimed third in his Spectrum 011C, with Ray GR18 driver Thorburn just behind.

Reigning champion Luke Williams made an unexpected return in place of Hugo Bentley-Ellis at KMR, and qualified an impressive sixth. He did run as high as second early in the session but returned to the pits early rather than staying out to improve his time.

The unrelated Carter Williams qualified seventh for Don Hardman Racing, beating team-mate Joey Foster once again, this time by only 0.031 seconds.

Jack Wolfenden, who switched from a Firman to a Van Diemen chassis ahead of the weekend, completed the top 10 for Team Dolan.

Vincent Jay took a comfortable Clubman Post-’89 pole in 15th, with Simon Fleet taking pole for the Clubman Pre-’90 class by default as the only entrant.

Qualifying results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Niall Murray Van Diemen 1:47.273
2 Pro Luke Cooper Swift +0.302
3 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +0.331
4 Pro Jamie Thorburn Ray +0.342
5 Pro Matt Round-Garrido Medina +0.416
6 Pro Luke Williams Spectrum +0.526
7 Pro Carter Williams Ray +0.566
8 Pro Joey Foster Ray +0.597
9 Pro Nico Gruber Ray +0.728
10 Pro Jack Wolfenden Van Diemen +0.897
11 Pro Sebastian Job Van Diemen +0.998
12 Pro Rory Smith Medina +1.251
13 Pro Johnathan Browne Ray +1.322
14 Pro Thomas Capezzone Swift +1.801
15 CM89 Vincent Jay Ray +5.077
16 CM90 Simon Fleet Van Diemen +6.751
17 CM89 George McDonald Van Diemen +6.899

0 comments on “National championship leader Murray sets pace in Oulton Park qualifying

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: