BRSCC News Northern

Eastwell claims comfortable double BRSCC Northern victory at Silverstone

Michael Eastwell claimed a convincing double victory in the fourth round of the BRSCC Avon Tyres Northern Formula Ford 1600 Championship on the Silverstone National circuit.

The Kevin Mills Racing driver started both races from pole position and made clean getaways in each encounter to comfortably claim a pair of wins.

Eastwell, who is currently second in the sister BRSCC National FF1600 championship, was unchallenged throughout a red-flagged opening race, beating Matt Rivett’s Ray by 4.325 seconds.

Rivett made amends for a lowly starting position of seventh to work his way up the order in wet conditions. The Ray driver made it past Rory Smith’s Medina on the fourth lap of 11 before passing Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Jonathan Browne exiting Copse on the penultimate lap.

Browne beat Smith to the final step of the podium by just under 0.7s in his Ray, while CDR team-mate Nico Gruber finished a distant fifth.

Hugo Bentley-Ellis finished sixth in the second KMR Spectrum, with Dutchman Jaap Blijleven winning the Pre-’90 class in seventh.

The race was red-flagged after Max Marzorati and Henry Chart collided at Luffield. FF1600 debutant Marzorati was subsequently disqualified for his part in the accident.

Eastwell led again at the start of race two but was briefly challenged by Rivett. Having built a healthy margin, the KMR driver faced difficulties in getting by a handful of backmarkers, but was able to see off Smith by 4.856s at the flag.

Smith undoubtedly missed out on a possible victory after running wide at Brooklands when in fourth. He fell to sixth place but produced a sensational comeback drive to finish second behind Eastwell.

He made quick work of Browne into Copse with six laps remaining before getting inside Gruber at the same corner two laps later. Smith ultimately ran out of laps to challenge Eastwell.

The B-M Racing driver still extends his Post-’89 championship lead though, which now stands at 33 points over Nigel Dolan, who finished eighth and seventh in his Van Diemen.

Early challenger Rivett had lost second to Gruber at Brooklands on the fourth lap and, in attempting to re-gain the position, brought Smith and Browne into the fight.

Rivett’s race was eventually ended after Gruber made contact with him approaching Becketts as the pair disputed third place. Gruber took the position but was later disqualified for the incident.

Blijleven was once again was the best Pre-’90 car in sixth, and now stands fourth in the class standings.

Results round-up

Race one
Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Post89 Michael Eastwell Spectrum 11 laps
2 Post89 Matt Rivett Ray +4.325
3 Post89 Jonathan Browne Ray +5.225
4 Post89 Rory Smith Medina +5.915
5 Post89 Nico Gruber Ray +11.387
6 Post89 Hugo Bentley-Ellis Spectrum +12.212
7 Pre90 Jaap Blijleven Reynard +27.451
8 Post89 Nigel Dolan Van Diemen +39.139
9 Pre90 Mario Sarchett Reynard +56.138
10 Pre90 Scott Rawlinson Van Diemen +1 lap
Pole: Eastwell, 1:13.508      Fastest lap: Eastwell, 1:13.029

Race two
Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Post89 Eastwell Spectrum 19 laps
2 Post89 Smith Medina +4.856
3 Post89 Gruber Ray +5.336
4 Post89 Browne Ray +10.142
5 Post89 Henry Chart Van Diemen +23.054
6 Pre90 Blijleven Reynard +36.362
7 Post89 Dolan Van Diemen +37.205
8 Post89 Tom Hawkins Ray +54.630
9 Post89 Sarchet Reynard +57.246
10 Pre90 Ben Tinkler Reynard +1:02.590
FL: Gruber, 1:04.568

Championship standings

1 Smith 166   2 Dolan 133   3 Alaric Gordon 121   4 David McArthur 101   5 Andrew Thomas 96   6 Matthew Chisholm 82   7 Eastwell 72   8 Fergus Paton 57   9 John Ferguson 48   10 Browne 48
Sarchet 214   2 Juiceie Bruceie 143   3 Wolfenden 138   4 Blijleven 126   5 Rawlinson 126   6 Wayne Poole 91   7 Brian Young 89   Ian Ellis 72   9 Edwin Hannah 70   10 Trevor Morgan 46

0 comments on “Eastwell claims comfortable double BRSCC Northern victory at Silverstone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: