BRSCC National News

Murray victorious once again in second National race at Castle Combe

Niall Murray took his eighth win of the BRSCC Avon Tyres National Formula Ford 1600 Championship season in the second Castle Combe race, extending his championship lead to 100 points.

Murray led from the start and never looked challenged on the way to victory in his Van Diemen RF99.

Team Dolan team-mate Matt Round-Garrido finished second in controversial fashion after a late collision with Kevin Mills Racing’s Michael Eastwell.

Eastwell attempted a move around the outside of Round-Garrido through Quarry and misjudged how much space Round-Garrido would give him as the two cars converged at the exit of the corner, by which time Eastwell had got in front.

The right hand side of Eastwell’s Spectrum 011C tagged the front left of Round-Garrido’s Medina Sport JL17 on the last lap, spinning Eastwell and damaging Round-Garrido’s car.

Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Jamie Thorburn initially ran in second, but only held the position for one lap as Round-Garrido took to the grass to take the position down the pit straight at the start of the second lap.

Thorburn then had an off-track excursion and retired, promoting Eastwell to third. When Eastwell had his own incident, it handed the final podium spot to Luke Cooper, who had started his Swift SC16 eighth on the grid.

A fierce battle between KMR’s Hugo Bentley-Ellis and Don Hardman Racing’s Joey Foster went Bentley-Ellis’s way, and he also took the fastest lap of the race on the way to fourth place.

Eastwell finished a disappointed sixth, but with a comfortable gap over the group of cars fighting for seventh place.

DHA’s Carter Williams just won that battle, with CDR’s Nico Gruber, Clubman Post-’89 Class winner Felix Fisher and Gruber’s team-mate Jonathan Browne just behind.

Fisher had led the battle, and took to the grass in an attempt to reclaim seventh midway through the race. His class victory puts him seventh in the Post’-89 standings.

Richard Morris and Vincent Jay were the only other two Post-’89 competitors, and finished 16th and 17th overall.

B-M Racing had a poor race, with Rory Smith spinning down the order on the second lap and Sebastian Job crashing into the barriers at the exit of the Esses.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Niall Murray Van Diemen 13 laps
2 Pro Matt Round-Garrido Medina Sport +3.809
3 Pro Luke Cooper Swift +3.928
4 Pro Hugo Bentley-Ellis Spectrum +10.508
5 Pro Joey Foster Ray +10.667
6 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +14.596
7 Pro Carter Williams Ray +15.621
8 Pro Nico Gruber Ray +15.776
9 CM89 Felix Fisher Ray +16.040
10 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +16.372
11 Pro Roger Orgee Ray +17.596
12 Pro David McArthur Van Diemen +19.371
13 Pro James Clarke Mygale +19.504
14 Pro Thomas Capezzone Swift +24.897
15 Pro Rory Smith Medina +37.159
16 CM89 Richard Morris Swift +43.280
17 CM89 Vincent Jay Ray +44.875
18 Pro Davide Meloni Swift +2 laps
DNF Pro Sebastian Job Van Diemen
DNF Pro Jack Wolfenden Firman
DNF Pro Jamie Thorburn Ray
Fastest lap: Bentley-Ellis, 1:09.581

Championship standings

Murray 374   2 Eastwell 274   3 Round-Garrido 253   4 Cooper 232   5 Foster 218   6 Thorburn 209   7 Neil Maclennan 195   8 R Smith 152   9 Bentley-Ellis 136   10 Gruber 132
Clubman Post89
1 Jay 358   2 Richard Morris 280   3 Daniel O’Beirne 106   4 John Svensson 97   John Ferguson 94   6 Sam Street 74   7 Fisher 70   8 Henry Chart 53   9 George McDonald 28

0 comments on “Murray victorious once again in second National race at Castle Combe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: