BRSCC National News

Murray takes dream triple win in final BRSCC National race at Combe

Niall Murray completed his season-long aim of winning all three races in a weekend in the third BRSCC Avon Tyres National Formula Ford 1600 Championship race at Castle Combe.

The reversed grid format of the final race of the weekend meant Team Dolan driver Murray started from eighth in his Van Diemen RF99, and was up to sixth by the end of the first lap.

On the third lap he jumped to fourth, and positioned himself on the rear of the battle for second between Don Hardman Racing’s Joey Foster and Cliff Dempsey Racing rookie Nico Gruber.

It only took two corners for Murray to move past Gruber’s Ray GR15, and he was ahead of Foster’s Ray GR08 before entering the Esses.

Kevin Mills Racing’s Michael Eastwell, Murray’s closest rival in the championship, had built up a substantial lead during this time in his Spectrum 011C.

A lairy run through the Esses cut down that gap, and it wasn’t long before Murray was putting pressure on the leader.

Murray took the lead on the inside of Avon Rise just two laps after moving into second, and spent the rest of the race ensuring Eastwell wasn’t close enough to snatch the lead.

Eastwell did get close, getting two important points for fastest lap in his mission to reclaim the lead and take his first win in the championship, but ended up 0.4 seconds short.

Matt Round-Garrido followed team-mate Murray up the order from seventh on the grid in his Medina Sport JL17, but had no answer to the pace of the top two and spent the second half of the race preoccupied in holding off Foster.

Castle Combe lap record holder Hugo Bentley-Ellis (Spectrum 011C) beat Gruber to fifth, with Clubman Post-’89 Class winner and Combe expert Felix Fisher finishing seventh.

The battle for eighth came down to Rory Smith (Medina JL18) and Jamie Thorburn (Ray GR18), who both had to come through from the back of the grid after trouble in the previous race.

Luke Cooper failed to make an impact in his Swift SC16, and actually dropped from sixth on the grid to 10th come the end of the race.

Foster’s DHR team-mate Carter Williams had an impressive beginning to the race from second on the grid, but a smoking rear end led to a retirement and a disappointing end to what has been his most successful weekend yet.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Niall Murray Van Diemen 14 laps
2 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +0.408
3 Pro Matt Round-Garrido Medina Sport +4.651
4 Pro Joey Foster Ray +4.908
5 Pro Hugo Bentley-Ellis Spectrum +6.672
6 Pro Nico Gruber Ray +8.275
7 CM89 Felix Fisher Ray +14.867
8 Pro Rory Smith Medina +15.502
9 Pro Jamie Thorburn Ray +15.769
10 Pro Luke Cooper Swift +15.928
11 Pro James Clarke Mygale +19.180
12 Pro Thomas Capezzone Swift +22.467
13 Pro Sebastian Job Van Diemen +22.906
14 CM89 Richard Morris Swift +33.518
15 Pro Johnathan Browne Ray +37.429
16 CM89 Vincent Jay Ray +44.257
17 Pro Davide Meloni Van Diemen +51.942
DNF Pro Roger Orgee Ray
DNF Pro Jack Wolfenden Firman
DNF Pro David McArthur Van Diemen
DNF Pro Carter Williams Ray
Fastest lap: Eastwell, 1:09:691

Championship standings

Murray 406   2 Eastwell 303   3 Round-Garrido 277   4 Cooper 242   5 Foster 240   6 Thorburn 221   7 Neil Maclennan 195   8 R Smith 167   9 Bentley-Ellis 156   10 Gruber 150
Clubman Post89
1 Jay 382   2 Richard Morris 307   3 Daniel O’Beirne 106   4 Fisher 104   5 John Svensson 97   John Ferguson 94   7 Sam Street 74   8 Fisher 36   9 George McDonald 28

0 comments on “Murray takes dream triple win in final BRSCC National race at Combe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: