BRSCC National News

Murray wins first BRSCC National race at Castle Combe despite last lap error

Niall Murray claimed a close victory in the opening BRSCC Avon Tyres National FF1600 Championship at Castle Combe, despite running wide on the final lap.

A lengthy stoppage due to an incident in a previous race, and subsequent repairs and recovery meant the opening race was shortened from 15 to 12 minutes.

Team Dolan driver Murray initially looked unchallenged from pole in his Van Diemen RF99, although Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Jamie Thorburn and Kevin Mills Racing’s Michael Eastwell stayed with him as he pulled away from the rest of the field.

An excursion onto the grass by Murray on the final lap meant he came under pressure from Thorburn, but a stronger run through the final corner ensured Thorburn couldn’t challenge for victory.

The podium trio were covered by just 0.562 seconds at the chequered flag.

CDR driver Hugo Bentley-Ellis rose from eighth on the grid to finish fourth, benefiting from a Luke Cooper spin that also held up Dolan’s Matt Round-Garrido and Bentley-Ellis’s team-mate Nico Gruber.

Round-Garrido finished in fifth in his Medina Sport JL17, close to Bentley-Ellis’s rear, while Don Hardman Racing team-mates Joey Foster and Carter Williams finished sixth and seventh, Foster doing so from 13th on the grid.

Cooper recovered from his spin to finish eighth, and took an extra two points after denying Murray fastest lap on the final tour.

Clubman Post-’89 class winner Felix Fisher finished ninth, with B-M Racing’s Rory Smith completing the top 10.

Jonathan Browne and the delayed Gruber were close behind Smith at the end of the race, and finished 11th and 12th.

Richard Morris and Vincent Jay finished second and third in the Post-’89 class in 17th and 19th overall.

Roger Orgee and Thomas Capezzone both retired from the race after four laps.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Niall Murray Van Diemen 10 laps
2 Pro Jamie Thorburn Ray +0.254
3 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +0.562
4 Pro Hugo Bentley-Ellis Spectrum +6.649
5 Pro Matt Round-Garrido Medina Sport +6.850
6 Pro Joey Foster Ray +8.518
7 Pro Carter Williams Ray +8.887
8 Pro Luke Cooper Swift +9.531
9 CM89 Felix Fisher Ray +10.616
10 Pro Rory Smith Medina +13.224
11 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +13.559
12 Pro Nico Gruber Ray +13.833
13 Pro Jack Wolfenden Firman +15.744
14 Pro Sebastian Job Van Diemen +18.078
15 Pro James Clarke Mygale +18.426
16 Pro David McArthur Van Diemen +19.764
17 CM89 Richard Morris Swift +24.429
18 Pro Davide Meloni Swift +38.958
19 CM89 Vincent Jay Ray +45.095
DNF Pro Roger Orgee Ray
DNF Pro Thomas Capezzone Swift
Fastest lap: Cooper, 1:09:875

Championship standings

Murray 342   2 Eastwell 256   3 Round-Garrido 226   4 Cooper 208   5 Thorburn 207   6 Foster 198   7 Neil Maclennan 195   8 R Smith 149   9 Gruber 120   10 Bentley-Ellis 112
Clubman Post89
1 Jay 334   2 Richard Morris 253   3 Daniel O’Beirne 106   4 John Svensson 97   John Ferguson 94   6 Sam Street 74   7 Henry Chart 53   8 Fisher 36   9 George McDonald 28

0 comments on “Murray wins first BRSCC National race at Castle Combe despite last lap error

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: