BRSCC National News

Murray remains unbeaten in second Kirkistown race

Niall Murray won once again in the second BRSCC Avon Tyres National Formula Ford 1600 Championship race at Kirkistown, fending off Luke Cooper for his sixth victory of the season.

In similar circumstances to the first race, Team Dolan driver Murray lost the lead at the start in his Van Diemen to Swift Cooper’s Luke Cooper, who then outbraked himself and dropped to third behind Murray and Clubman Pre-’90 class guest driver Alan Davidson.

Davidson couldn’t retain the pace of Murray, and was soon demoted down to third by Cooper’s Swift.

Cooper then set about chasing down Murray, setting fastest lap after fastest lap and catching the leader on the penultimate lap. He couldn’t find a way through though, and missed out on his second win of the season by a scant 0.101 seconds.

Kevin Mills Racing’s Michael Eastwell completed the podium once again, this time coming under intense pressure from fellow Spectrum driver Jordan Dempsey. The pair finished the race just a few hundredths of a second apart.

Neil Maclennan (Cliff Dempsey Racing Ray), Joey Foster (Don Hardman Racing Ray) and Matt Round-Garrido (Team Dolan Medina) finished fifth, sixth and seventh, and are now separated by just four points in their battle for fifth in the standings.

Just ahead of them in the standings is CDR driver Jamie Thorburn, who retired his Ray after a collision with Davidson’s Mondiale into Fishermans corner.

Nico Gruber joined his CDR team-mate in failing to make it to the finish, parking his Ray in the pitlane.

A three car battle for eighth was won by B-M Racing’s Rory Smith in his Medina, fending off challenges from DHR driver Carter Williams in a Ray and KMR’s Spectrum-driving Hugo Bentley-Ellis.

Crossle driver Nicky Gibson had a spectacular retirement, making it to the pits shortly before the car set on fire.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Niall Murray Van Diemen 16 laps
2 Pro Luke Cooper Swift +0.101
3 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +7.178
4 Pro Jordan Dempsey Spectrum +7.218
5 Pro Neil Maclennan Ray +8.868
6 Pro Joey Foster Ray +9.084
7 Pro Matt Round-Garrido Medina Sport +15.382
8 Pro Rory Smith Medina +15.847
9 Pro Carter Williams Ray +16.015
10 Pro Hugo Bentley-Ellis Spectrum +16.529
11 Pro Johnathan Browne Ray +17.194
12 Pro Sebastian Job Van Diemen +17.830
13 Pro David McArthur Van Diemen +18.662
14 CM89 Vincent Jay Ray +42.021
15 CM90 Ian McCulla Reynard +50.535
16 CM90 Ashley McCulla Reynard +55.315
17 CM90 Jim Campbell Mondiale +1 lap
DNF CM90 Nicky Gibson Crossle
DNF Pro Nico Gruber Ray
DNF Pro Jamie Thorburn Ray
DNF CM90 Alan Davidson Mondiale
Fastest lap: Cooper, 1:00.999

Championship standings

Murray 306   2 Eastwell 205   3 Cooper 192   4 Thorburn 178   5 Round-Garrido 174   6 Maclennan 171   7 Foster 170   8 R Smith 127   9 Gruber 97   10 Michael Moyers 95
Clubman Post89
1 Jay 276   2 Richard Morris 226   3 Daniel O’Beirne 106   4 John Svensson 97   John Ferguson 94   6 Sam Street 74   7 Henry Chart 53   8 George McDonald 28

0 comments on “Murray remains unbeaten in second Kirkistown race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: