BRSCC News Northern

Rory Smith dominates wet BRSCC Northern qualifying at Oulton Park

Rory Smith claimed a convincing pole position for the opening race of the third Avon Tyres FF1600 Northern Championship round at a wet Oulton Park.

Smith, who is third in the Northern Post-’89 standings and jointly heads the Champion of Oulton points, set his time on his third flying lap as rain continually fell. The B-M Racing/Medina Sport driver qualified more than two seconds faster than his nearest rival with a lap of 2m08.193s.

David McArthur, winner of the opening Post-’89 race of the season, claimed second on the grid for the first of the day’s two races after he made changes to his Van Diemen LA10 during a mid-session pit visit. That relegated the fastest of the Pre-’90 runners, Jaap Blijleven, to the second row of the grid in his Reynard 88FF. The Dutch driver – who has missed the opening two meetings – was more than 4s faster than his nearest Pre-’90 competitor Jack Wolfenden in a similar Reynard.

David McArthur’s father Neil was next up on a rare outing in a Van Diemen LA10, with Ray Smith rounding out the top six in his Van Diemen RF88.

Respective Post-’89 and Pre-’90 championship leaders Andrew Thomas and Mario Sarchet claimed seventh and 12th on the grid.

There was one casualty before the weekend, with American Richard Ketterman’s Reynard 86FF suffering engine problems in Friday testing.

Qualifying results

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 Post89 Rory Smith Medina 2:08.193
2 Post89 David McArthur Van Diemen +2.210
3 Pre90 Jaap Blijleven Reynard +2.256
4 Pre90 Jack Wolfenden Reynard +6.526
5 Post89 Neil McArthur Van Diemen +6.981
6 Pre90 Ray Smith Van Diemen +7.093
7 Post89 Andrew Thomas Mygale +7.472
8 Pre90 Christopher Stones Van Diemen +7.643
9 Post89 Matthew Chisholm Van Diemen +8.454
10 Pre90 Scott Rawlinson Van Diemen +8.520
11 Pre90 Brian Young Reynard +8.536
12 Pre90 Mario Sarchet Reynard +9.194
13 Post89 Alaric Gordon Swift +9.593
14 Pre90 Edwin Hannah Reynard +9.837
15 Pre90 Wayne Poole Van Diemen +10.458
16 Post89 Nigel Dolan Van Diemen +11.376
17 Pre90 Scott Guthrie Crossle +13.125
18 Pre90 Juiceie Bruceie Reynard +17.079
19 Post89 Fergus Paton Van Diemen +19.915
20 Pre90 Trevor Morgan Reynard +20.683
21 Pre90 Andrew Kluge Van Diemen +20.884
22 Pre90 Stephen Bracegirdle Van Diemen +24.245
23 Post89 Seamus Wild Swift +27.281
24 Pre90 Ian Wood Royale +31.446
23 Pre90 Steve Nixon Van Diemen +31.735

0 comments on “Rory Smith dominates wet BRSCC Northern qualifying at Oulton Park

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: