National News

Maclennan beats Bentley-Ellis to win final race

Neil Maclennan bounced back from earlier weekend disappointment to win the third and final Avon Tyres National Formula Ford 1600 Championship race at Brands Hatch.

Cliff Dempsey Racing Ray driver Maclennan suffered mechanical woes in race one, retiring from second position, but made amends for that with his eighth place finish in race two giving him pole for the reverse-grid third encounter.

Maclennan made a good start and despite immense pressure from the impressive Hugo Bentley-Ellis in the Kevin Mills Racing Spectrum, managed to hold on to win by 0.4 seconds at the flag.

Weekend dominator and championship leader Niall Murray (Team Dolan Van Diemen) stormed from eighth to third, capitalising on a mid-race collision between Joey Foster and Michael Moyers.

Foster (Ray) and Moyers (Spectrum) were battling over third into Paddock Hill Bend on the fourth tour, but slight contact at the exit of the corner sent Moyers briefly airborne and spinning into the gravel, triggering the only safety car of the race.

Jamie Thorburn was fourth in his Cliff Dempsey Racing Ray ahead of Rory Smith’s Medina.

Michael Eastwell (Kevin Mills Racing Spectrum) finished exactly where he started in sixth, despite dropping to tenth just before the safety car. Nico Gruber survived a lap-eight collision with Foster to finish seventh in his Cliff Dempsey Racing Ray, but was then disqualified

Unlike his contact with Moyers, Foster came off worse this time round, ending his race in the Druids gravel trap.

Also in strife was Matt Round-Garrido, who pulled his Medina Sport JL17 off at Paddock a lap later and the subsequent yellow flags took away a key overtaking opportunity.

Roger Orgee took eighth in his Ray ahead of Oldfield Motorsport’s Josh Smith and Chris Middlehurst’s Van Diemen, which retired in this morning’s second race.

John Svensson and Henry Chart found themselves together again in Clubman Post ‘89, but this time they avoided the Paddock gravel and finished first and second in class in their Van Diemens. Vincent Jay survived a moment at Paddock near the end to finish third in his Ray.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Neil Maclennan Ray 15 laps
2 Pro Hugo Bentley-Ellis Spectrum +0.402
3 Pro Niall Murray Van Diemen +0.786
4 Pro Jamie Thorburn Ray +0.925
5 Pro Rory Smith Medina +1.445
6 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +1.696
7 Pro Roger Orgee Ray +2.684
8 Pro Joshua Smith Van Diemen +5.559
9 Pro Chris Middlehurst Van Diemen +6.149
10 Pro Matt Rivett Ray +6.722
11 Pro Luke Cooper Swift +9.909
12 Pro Sebastian Melrose Ray +9.998
13 Pro Thomas Capezzone Swift +10.244
14 Pro James Clarke Mygale +10.444
15 CM89 John Svensson Van Diemen +11.440
16 CM89 Henry Chart Van Diemen +11.605
17 Pro Carter Williams Ray +13.767
18 Pro Pascal Monbaron Van Diemen +14.827
19 CM89 Vincent Jay Ray +15.440
20 Pro Sebastian Job Van Diemen +16.854
21 CM89 Sam Street Swift +21.378
22 CM89 Richard Morris Swift +21.504
23 Pro Davide Meloni Van Diemen +23.973
24 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +44.763
DNF CM89 Daniel O’Beirne Swift
DNF Pro Jack Wolfenden Firman
DNF Pro Matt Round-Garrido Medina Sport
DNF Pro Joey Foster Ray
DNF Pro Michael Moyers Spectrum
DSQ Pro Nico Gruber Ray
Fastest lap: Eastwell, 51.260

Championship standings

Murray 238   2 Thorburn  161   3 Round-Garrido 157   4 Eastwell 157   5 Foster 142   6 Cooper 136   7 Maclennan 129   8 R Smith 103   9 Moyers 95   10 Gruber 93
Clubman Post89
1 Morris 226   2 Jay 206   O’Beirne 106   4 Svensson 97   John Ferguson 94   6 Street 74   7 Chart 53   8 George McDonald 28

0 comments on “Maclennan beats Bentley-Ellis to win final race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: