BRSCC National

Murray avoids chaos to claim pole position at Brands

Avon Tyres National Formula Ford 1600 championship leader Niall Murray took pole position in a chaotic qualifying session on the Brands Hatch Indy circuit.

Team Dolan Van Diemen driver Murray set a time of 50.346s to jump ahead of Michael Eastwell by 0.147s late in the session before Luke Cooper’s three-wheeled Swift SC16 brought out the second red flag – and ultimately the chequered flag – of the 15-minute session.

Cooper, who trails Murray by 17 points in the standings, stopped along the Cooper Straight after his wheel dramatically parted ways with his car and flew across the track, thankfully being avoided by the following cars.

Cooper had already been in the gravel at Paddock Hill Bend, going off in avoidance as the Clubman Post 89 top two John Svensson and Henry Chart collided, causing the first red flag just five minutes into the session.

Neil Maclennan was third in his Cliff Dempsey Ray ahead of Joey Foster, whose late improvement moved the Truro-based Ray driver up from tenth to fourth just before the session-ending red flag.

The impressive Hugo Bentley-Ellis (Kevin Mills Racing Spectrum) was shuffled down to fifth at the end, having topped the timesheets early on.

2017 Walter Hayes Trophy winner Michael Moyers (Spectrum) was next up ahead of the stranded Cooper.

Nico Gruber was eighth in his Cliff Dempsey Racing-run Ray ahead of Matt Round-Garrido, the Medina Sport driver coming to Brands third in the standings after his maiden victory at Knockhill last time out.

Jamie Thorburn rounded out the top ten in his Cliff Dempsey Racing Ray. A steering arm failure pitched him into the barrier at the bottom of Paddock Hill Bend in Friday’s first testing session, costing him track time.

Despite his Paddock Hill Bend off, nobody could challenge Clubman Post 89 top runner Svensson (Van Diemen).

Daniel O’Beirne deposited Chart from second place in his Swift, with Chart holding onto third ahead of Richard Morris (Swift).Race one of the day gets underway at 15.55 this afternoon.

Qualifying results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Niall Murray Van Diemen 50.346
2 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +0.147
3 Pro Neil Maclennan Ray +0.188
4 Pro Joey Foster Ray +0.241
5 Pro Hugo Bentley-Ellis Spectrum +0.293
6 Pro Michael Moyers Spectrum +0.316
7 Pro Luke Cooper Swift +0.349
8 Pro Nico Gruber Ray +0.356
9 Pro Matt Round-Garrido Medina Sport +0.369
10 Pro Jamie Thorburn Ray +0.507
11 Pro Carter Williams Ray +0.509
12 Pro Jack Wolfenden Firman +0.591
13 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +0.609
14 Pro Chris Middlehurst Van Diemen +0.754
15 Pro Roger Orgee Ray +0.782
16 Pro Joshua Smith Van Diemen +0.867
17 Pro Rory Smith Medina +0.898
18 Pro Matt Rivett Ray +0.924
19 Pro James Clarke Mygale +0.926
20 Pro Sebastian Melrose Ray +0.982
21 Pro Thomas Capezzone Swift +1.111
22 Pro Pascal Monbaron Van Diemen +1.270
23 Pro Sebastian Job Van Diemen +1.390
24 CM89 John Svensson Van Diemen +1.472
25 CM89 Daniel O’Beirne Swift +1.510
26 CM89 Henry Chart Van Diemen +1.553
27 CM89 Richard Morris Swift +1.839
28 CM89 Vincent Jay Ray +1.945
29 CM89 Sam Street Swift +2.005
30 Pro Davide Meloni Van Diemen +2.362

0 comments on “Murray avoids chaos to claim pole position at Brands

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: