Historic News

Tarling triumphs in five-way fight for Historic FF1600 victory

Reigning HSCC Historic Formula Ford 1600 champion Richard Tarling won the second point-scoring race of the season in a five-driver battle for victory.

Tarling fought hard in the leading pack with Ben Mitchell, Nelson Rowe, Callum Grant and Cameron Jackson. The order between first and fifth changed frequently, with the cars regularly going down the pit straight and into the first two turns up to three-wide.

Rowe and Tarling were the regular leaders going over the line, and it wasn’t until the final lap that Tarling looked assured of victory in his Jamun T2.

Jackson started the race in fifth, but finished the final lap in second place in his Lola T200, ahead of race two winner Ben Mitchell.

Less than two tenths separated second from fourth going over the line at the end of the race, with Merlyn driver Grant finishing fourth for the second time this weekend.

Rowe dropped down to fifth during the final two laps.

Ed Thurston and Gislain Genecand were in a battle for sixth, which also included Will Nuthall before he had a trip through the gravel on lap 14. Although not in the leading pack, they were only 1.2 seconds away from Tarling at the end. Thurston also set the fastest lap of the race on lap 13.

Genecand finished seventh and was the Over-50 class winner for the second time of the weekend. Stuart Kestenbaum finished in eighth and was the Over-50 runner-up for the second time. Third to fifth in the class consisted of David Wild, Rob Smith and Tim Brise in 16th, 17th and 18th respectively.

Michael Grant Peterkin ended his race in ninth in his Brabham BT21, while Nuthall rounded off the top 10.

Benjamin Tusting, who won the qualifying race to start 25th on the grid, was able to make his way up to 11th, but was nine seconds behind Nuthall.

Photo courtesy of Dan Bichener

Race highlights

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Richard Tarling Jamun 16 laps
2 Cameron Jackson Lola +0.102
3 Ben Mitchell Merlyn +0.197
4 Callum Grant Merlyn +0.272
5 Nelson Rowe Crossle +0.752
6 Ed Thurston Elden +1.029
7 OF Gislain Genecand Crossle +1.191
8 OF Stuart Kestenbaum Crossle +2.102
9 Michael Grant Peterkin Brabham +4.406
10 Will Nuthall Jamun +5.877
11 Benjamin Tusting Merlyn +14.832
12 Ross Drybrough Merlyn +15.297
13 Matthew Wrigley Merlyn +16.749
14 Harvey Sykes Crossle +22.830
15 Peter Park Hawke +23.892
16 OF David Wild Lola +24.440
17 OF Rob Smith Merlyn +28.251
18 OF Tim Brise Merlyn +28.535
19 Daniel Stanzl Elden +29.046
20 OF Chris Stuart Crossle +29.216
21 Cormac Flanagan Alexis +29.447
22 OF Kevin Stanzl Crossle +33.054
23 OF Robert Tusting Lola +33.156
24 Lee Penson Lotus +39.156
25 OF Andrew Mansell Merlyn +47.670
26 John Roberts Merlyn +55.799s
27 OF Stephen King Macon +1:03.157
28 OF Dick Dixon Lotus +1:03.355
29 OF Andrew Wiggins Titan +1 lap
30 OF Gregory Thornton Titan +1 lap

1 comment on “Tarling triumphs in five-way fight for Historic FF1600 victory

  1. R (Dick) Dixon.

    Great report boys, good thing you are doing here. Please add Gislain Genocane to our Radio Caroline Over50 list and it was he who came first in the Sunday (as we didn’t know how old he was for the Saturday one!).

    YouTube coverage will be on in a few days on our historicff website link. May see you at Cadwell next. BBQ invite to you guys too.

    Regards, Dick Dixon HFF Drivers Rep.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: