News Walter Hayes Trophy

Moyers denies Fisher Walter Hayes victory in dramatic final

Michael Moyers claimed his first ever Walter Hayes Trophy victory with a sensational last-lap pass on Josh Fisher in an epic final at Silverstone.

Kevin Mills Racing driver Moyers started third and sat behind early leaders Joey Foster and Josh Fisher before making his move on the Wellington Straight.

Fisher and White had been left to dispute the spoils after Foster – who slowed at Copse – dropped back down the field late on.

White withstood several ferocious attacks from Fisher’s Wayne Poole Racing Van Diemen into Brooklands to maintain a slender lead, but the pair touched at the same corner on the penultimate lap.

This forced Medina Sport driver White out of contention with damage and allowed Moyers to close up on Fisher – who had beaten him to this year’s Castle Combe title in a fractious contest – heading onto the final lap.

Moyers then pounced on the seemingly crippled Van Diemen out of Becketts to wrestle his Spectrum into the lead, eventually taking the win by 0.256s at the line.

James Raven claimed the final step on the podium in third for Cliff Dempsey Racing, while Kevin O’Hara took a richly-deserved fourth place, having started 18th.

The race – initially delayed due to Jamie Chadwick’s stalled Graham Brunton Racing Ray – began with Fisher beating Foster off the line and leading into Copse.

Behind the slipstreaming pair, there was a scary crash involving three cars. Thomas McArthur flipped his Van Diemen over brother David as the pair attempted to avoid the stricken Cameron Jackson, who was slow to recover from a spin at Brooklands.

GBR’s Michael MacPherson was also caught up in the melee at the rear of the field, and spun. The 16 year-old finished 24th, one place ahead of team-mate Chadwick.

Tom McArthur’s B-M Racing Van Diemen sustained heavy damage to the left rear and all three cars were stranded in the gravel.

Incredibly, only double waved yellows were shown and as the racing continued, the battle for the lead between White and Fisher intensified.

But neither would take away the spoils this time, and an emotional Moyers secured his maiden WHT victory instead.

Chris Middlehurst finished fifth, ahead of Team USA’s Jonathan Kotyk (CDR Ray) and Luke Cooper’s Swift.

Rounding out the top 10, Matt Round-Garrido headed home Moyers’ KMR team-mates Roger Orgee and Michael Eastwell.

US F1600 champion Matt Cowley’s disappointing weekend ended in retirement, as did Scottish champion Ross Martin’s.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Michael Moyers Spectrum 15 Laps
2 Josh Fisher Van Diemen +0.256
3 James Raven Ray +2.335
4 Kevin O’Hara Van Diemen +2.830
5 Chris Middlehurst Van Diemen +4.188
6 Jonathan Kotyk Ray +4.444
7 Luke Cooper Swift +4.762
8 Matt Round-Garrido Medina Sport +5.359
9 Roger Orgee Ray +6.981
10 Michael Eastwell Spectrum +7.671
11 Ed Moore Van Diemen +8.353
12 James Scott-Murphy Van Diemen +8.791
13 Ivor McCullough Van Diemen +9.058
14 Abdul Ahmed Ray +9.726
15 James Roe Van Diemen +10.089
16 Keith Donegan Van Diemen +10.305
17 Rory Smith Van Diemen +14.045
18 Stuart Gough Spectrum +14.584
19 Rob hall Van Diemen +15.094
20 Luciano Carvalho Van Diemen +15.334
21 Thomas Capezzone Swift +15.588
22 P93 Ben Tinkler Reynard +24.944
23 P93 David Cobbold Van Diemen +25.461
24 Michael MacPherson Ray +30.313
25 Jamie Chadwick Ray +44.554
DNF Matthew Cowley Van Diemen 14 laps
DNF Jack Wolfenden Firman 14 laps
DNF Oliver White Medina Sport 13 laps
DNF Joshua Smith Van Diemen 13 laps
DNF Ross Martin Ray 12 laps
DNF Joey Foster Ray 10 laps
DNF Felix Fisher Van Diemen 7 laps
DNF Thomas McArthur Van Diemen 5 laps
DNF David McArthur Van Diemen 5 laps
DNF Cameron Jackson Van Diemen 5 laps
DNF David Mccullough Van Diemen 2 laps

0 comments on “Moyers denies Fisher Walter Hayes victory in dramatic final

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: