News Walter Hayes Trophy

Blijleven wins hard-fought first Consolation race

Avon Tyres Northern Pre90 champion Jaap Blijleven won the Walter Hayes Trophy’s Non Historic Formula Ford Consolation Race in his UCLAN Reynard 88FF.

The Dutchman started in sixth, with fellow Reynard driver Ben Tinkler and Souley Motorsport Van Diemen man David Cobbold sharing the front row.

Blijleven moved up two spots on the first lap, and pulled off a brave overtake through Luffield to take third a lap later.

He then chased down Cobbold and Tinkler, with Cobbold having taken the lead off the line.

Tinkler eventually regained top spot, but that only lasted for one lap as a failed move by Cobbold assisted Blijleven in getting past both.

Blijleven witheld Tinkler’s attacks till the flag, with Cobbold just behind.

Having dropped back a significant margin after his unsuccessful at attempt at Tinkler, Cobbold dug his heels in and set fastest lap in pursuit of the top two, eventually finishing 1.5 seconds behind the winner.

Cobbold’s Souley Motorsport team-mate and Van Diemen RF89 driver Richard Davison finished fourth, ahead of George McDonald in his Swift SC92, Team Fox man Lewis Fox and fellow Van Diemen driver Nicolas Beloou.

Souley man Paul Barnes and Samuel Street didn’t make it past the first lap after going into the gravel together at Becketts.


0 comments on “Blijleven wins hard-fought first Consolation race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: