News Walter Hayes Trophy

Moyers denies McCullough heat five pole

Kevin Mills Racing driver Michael Moyers topped the penultimate Walter Hayes Trophy qualifying session, which again took place on a wet but drying track.

The battle for pole took place between Moyers, in a Spectrum, and two-time Formula Ford Festival winner Ivor McCullough, in a Van Diemen.

The pair traded the top spot throughout the 10-minute session, with Moyers prevailing by almost half a second.

B-M Racing driver Rory Smith was third, a further half-second behind, with team-mate Tom McArthur alongside him.

Double Castle Combe champion Roger Orgee was fifth fastest for KMR, ahead of Team America scholarship driver Aaron Jeansonne’s Cliff Dempsey Racing Ray, Historic racer Ben Mitchell, Michael Eastwell and Britcover National with Avon Tyres champion Luke Williams, who is looking to put his heartbreaking throttle cable failure in the first heat of the Festival behind him.

But Williams’s WHT has been tough so far – he’s had to change his engine after a failure three laps into Friday’s test, when he also had gear linkage problems in his Firman. A general lack of wet running with the car left him guessing his wet set-up for qualifying and he is praying for dry races.

Paul Mason was 10th fastest, with Pre93 driver Ben Tinkler in 11th.


0 comments on “Moyers denies McCullough heat five pole

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: